Has anyone used a real CRT for lakka?

I plan on getting a CRT soon and I’m curious to know if anyone uses lakka, or if it’s even possible to use lakka on an older TV. Obviously it won’t have HDMI ports, so I’d have to buy an HDMI to composite cable converter of some sort. I’m just wondering if lakka would still be able to detect your resolution and all if I were to do that and if so, would roms run in their native resolution instead of being scaled up? I’ve never done anything like this before, but I believe it would add to the whole authentic aspect of it.

As I am now, I run Lakka in 720p so there’s a fair amount of noticeable artifacts when attempting to use a CRT shader. I could run at 1080p, but attempting to run lakka at x5 integral scale means a good chunk of screen is cut off from the top and bottom (it’s a 720p tv originally), and setting the scale to x4 is far too small for my tastes.

I have used a cheap 10$ box hdmi to av on my windows 10 pc and i’ve run retroarch. I had to set my desktop to a low res i think is was around 480p just for the box to work. One thing i did notice is that the box introduce input lag, not much but some.

original nes on tv(actual console)

and retroarch:

its cuts off and its not filled all in on the sides but if you set nes aspect ratio to 4:3 it fills in the sides, tops still cuts off. prob could adjust manually but lazy. and would be hard to adjust just to this tv when i never use it. retroarch nes 4:3

I know not the same a using lakka but it gives you an idea.

1 Like

On a regular TV, the easiest options are to accept 480i and use the composite out on an RPi (or the svideo out on an old laptop or GPU). If this firmware upgrade for RPi’s composite encoder pans out, it would be a much better alternative:

The best current option, IMO, is to softmod a Wii and run RetroArch through that.

1 Like