How to run DOSBox?

Total noob question here, but google isn’t really giving me anything.

I’m trying to follow this page from the Lakka website: http://www.lakka.tv/doc/DOSBox/

I have my MSDOS game. It has the .exe file and some other files.

How do I make it so that Lakka sees it?

Just to try, I put all the ms-dos files into the roms folder and then chose “scan this directory”. It froze. I had to unplug the power source and I just got my RPi 3.

Anyway, can someone in layman’s terms explain the correct procedure?

Thanks in advance

As the documentation said, you need to create a playlist named DOS.lpl in the directory /storage/playlists.

Then in your game directory you need to create configuration file to launch it.

For example,

tyrian.conf

[autoexec]
@echo off
mount d "/storage/roms/dos/tyrian"
d:
tyrian.exe

DOS.lpl

/storage/roms/dos/tyrian/tyrian.conf
Tyrian
/tmp/cores/dosbox_libretro.so
DOS (DOSBOX) 
DETECT
DOS.lpl

After that, you should see DOSBox icon.

I almost got it. I just need help with a few more details.

I see the MS-DOS column and my game but it says cannot load from the playlist

in the line “storage/roms/dos/tyrian” is tyrian a file in the dos folder? or is it a folder within the dos folder with the file tyrian inside of it?

my game is in a zip file. keep it that way or take out the .exe file and just use that?

After I get that all squared away, to add a second game, I just need to edit the playlist and add the same 6 lines but with a different title? maybe use a space in between and then create a “conf” file for it in the same folder that the game is in?

sorry for all the questions, as you can see, I’ve already flubbed.

Yes in the line “storage/roms/dos/tyrian”, tyrian is the game folder.

You have to extract your archive to your game folder.

Yes right you need to copy the 6 lines and change the first (path to the configuration file of the game) and second line (name of the game).

No problem you are welcome.