Lakka 2.3.1 for rPi4 won't boot

Hi everyone, I’m a Linux newbie. Have been trying to install Lakka on my new rPi 4 but have been getting black screens , not even the Lakka logo.

I used my Win10 laptop with a built in SD reader/write to flash with Etcher the Lakka 2.3.1 for rPi 4 , granted I’m using a cheap low end Canvas Select 16gb Kingston micro SD but I get the same issue with a SanDisk. And I can actually get Raspbian buster to run on this cheap SD card so I don’t think that’s the issue

I tried reflashing 3 times already to no avail Just a side note maybe? I get a failure to mount message after I finish flashing my SD card via Etcher but I also get the same message flashing Raspbian buster and that didnt screw it up.

Any input? Sorry no have no screen or any specific error message to share because there is NO screen at all

1 Like

I did the roundabout way by using NOOBS and a nightly build of Lakka whew

Scratch that, so I did manage to get successful OS install and I STILL GET a black screen on boot! WHYYYYY

Okay so it turns out a totally derped. Lakka can’t run on computer monitors. F me right?

I went and got the official Raspberry Pi micro HDMI cable from Micro Center just to be safe. HDMI cables and displays are tricky. I had no issues since using their official cable.

Lakka can run in computer monitors. I’ve done it many times but every cable is build different even when is the same HDMI format.

Good luck

Huh , learn something new. I have always found articles that say all HDMI cables are essentially the same. Guess I could try swapping the cables around when I feel the need. Luckily I intended to hook up my pi to my TV to begin with. I was just using my computer monitor as testing ground.

I hope you don’t mind and can forgive me if I hijack this thread. Unluckily I can’t create a new one and I must share my pain hoping in some support