Lakka on Pi2B, performance unexpectedly low

Edit: I forgot to mention I’m using Lakka 3.3, but noticed the performance issue already on a 2.x version (2.3 maybe? Not sure…). I can be wrong, but I think a nightly I tested around that timed performed slightly better, although this is probably not very useful. And the Recalbox version I’m referring to was 7.1.x, I think. I also thought about thermal throttling, but I never noticed a slowdown in other use cases. I use it as the bare board standing vertically and it never felt hot. Anyway, if I remember anything else I forgot, I’ll make sure to add it here as well.

__

Hey there, forum newbie here, with a possibly dumb question:

I’m relatively new to emulation run on other system than my phone (well, a little on PC long ago as well). I usually used well-established standalone emulator apps, mostly for SNES and GBA (patched/hacked ROMs).

I happened to buy a Raspberry Pi 2B some years ago which I mostly used for multimedia playback. Now I wanted to try RetroArch on on, which had me testing Retropie, Recalbox, Lakka, and Batocera. Overall, Lakka was my favorite UX-wise, but since I initially had some issues installing, I decided to stay on Recalbox until I finished playing my recent game.

__

When I installed Lakka again and set it up similarly to Recalbox, I noticed a big difference in performance. Both systems were equally overclocked with some overvoltage to provide the necessary juice (and ran stable for that matter). However, Recalbox ran mostly smooth, only with some crackling sound and seconds of lag during higher quality music and effects going off at the same time. But Lakka really struggles running the same game from the title screen. There is crackling sound and the FPS really tank, even with very little happening on screen.