Lakka triple booting

HI all I’m trying to triple boot windows 10 - lakka - ubuntu as I only have one laptop in the house lol and my son and me love retro games and I would like to keep it simple for him to load up him self, I’m a noob at all this really iv got windows 10 and ubuntu dual booting using grub and I have another parttion of 100gb which I’m hoping to manually installing lakka onto but that’s where im stuck any help would be grateful

I know this doesn’t directly answer your question, but it would be a lot simpler to just have a RetroArch installation inside of one of your existing OSes.

I got quad booting on my mini pc, windows 10, manjaro linux, libreelec and lakka. Have a look at this and see if it helps: -

https://blog.jordanhopfner.com/2013/01/10/triple-boot-windows-7-linux-openelec/

What I did was download Grub Customizer @ https://launchpad.net/~danielrichter2007/+archive/ubuntu/grub-customizer It is a GUI for the grub boot loader. I am sure there are others out there but that is what I used. It’s for Ubuntu so you have to download/install it there. Then load it up, create a new entry, point to the spot you have lakka in (I had to pick the chain loader option as well because mine was on another hard drive, may be different for you. Experiment with the other options just don’t delete/edit the original windows and ubuntu entries and you shouldn’t mess anything up too bad.) and it will put an entry in the menu that first loads up when you start your computer when you have multiple OS’s.

I used this website to help me install/use grub customizer: http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/2016/04/install-grub-customizer-ubuntu-16-04-lts/

I’m sorry I can’t explain with more detail. It was a while ago when I set it all up, my memory is a little foggy but hopefully this is a good starting point for you!

2 Likes