What I would love to see in Lakka

Hey everybody,

first up: I am a developer myself and often thought about contributing to the project. Unfortunately I have no experience with C++ or other technologies of this project (like LibreELEC etc.) Currently I do not have enough time to get into the whole project to develop for it.

There are some features that I would love to seen in Lakka. I am not sure if the features contradict the philosophy of Lakka but I want to write them down anyway…

Game Meta Data

Pretty sure that something like this was requested before. It would be very nice to have game meta data (e.g. developer, relase date, description etc.) shown for every game. Maybe it would not even be such a big effort. We could implement a scraper that collects the information from various sources. Afterwards it renders the information to an image that could be shown as a new thumbnail type (like boxart etc.). A more difficult solution would be to render HTML out of the game information and display it using a webview. With this feature you could customize to look of every game.

Game Favorites and History

It would be so nice to be able to tag games as favorites. This could be displayed using a little icon next to the game title. I would also love to have the ‘total minutes played’ information next to the title. Another advantage could be to display a playing history as an entry in the game menu. It would be perfect to order the playlist by favorites and ‘time played’. Playlist options like this could be accessed by selecting the playlist without scrolling down to a game (instead of selecting the first game of the playlist automatically).

Game Database

To store the information for the features above I thought about a SQL-lite database. I don’t know if something like this already exists or if there are good arguments against it. Such a database could be used for other useful things: