How to play multidisc games? (PS1, Dreamcast, ect..)

I’m new to Lakka and before I get started, I would like to have a tutorial on importing multidisc games if possible. Also, once I figure out how everything works, I will be designing overlays and various other things for Lakka.

Well this is kinda messy as getting clean accepted Bin/cue files can be a bit tricky in terms of multidisc games. I typically make an .m3u file using a program like notepad++ that links to the .cue files in question of the multidisc game.

For example. Lets say I have Grandia PSX edition. This is a two disk game that has some fun cut scenes and voice acting. First have your games extracted so that you can link to the cue file (or various other files that are available like img files) once you have the game extracted to the Lakka roms folder in question (I don’t know your directory tree so lets assume it’s /storage/roms/PlayStation) now at this point you can either scan your games and deal with two entries for the game, (not sure how good this solution is and assuming your copy matches what Lakka is expecting) or we can start making the m3u and manually edit the playlist. This takes more work, but leaves a cleaner interface with a disc swap option in the settings screen. Now at this time it would be a good idea to make sure your game images actually run. Last thing you want is to go through all this work to find that the game doesn’t even start due to being a bad dump or something.

The M3U file is a simple file that Lakka can use to link multi disc games with each other so that disc swapping can be done easily and cleanly. So in the case of the above example of Grandia, assuming that it comes out as .bin and .cue files for both parts of the game, the following would be what would be written in your m3u file.

Grandia CD1.cue Grandia CD2.cue