What are the best shader combos to make genesis or snes look good on a 1080p lcd

So Im new to this whole shaders thing.

I was playing around with different presets and discovered sabr, which so far seems to give the nicest smoothest image Ive seen so far on tons of old 2d games.

For example… (click for fullsize)

none sabr

or

none sabr

Then I discovered the dithering (or technically anti-dithering right?) shaders, and how they can blend the dithered colors and pseudo transparency used in some games

none gdapt

Then I realized I could combine them to get the benefits of each gdapt + sabr

So really Im just interested in what I should try next as far as making the image look nice on a 1080p monitor…

[QUOTE=tjwoosta;28958]So Im new to this whole shaders thing.

I was playing around with different presets and discovered sabr, which so far seems to give the nicest smoothest image Ive seen so far on tons of old 2d games.

For example… (click for fullsize)

none sabr

or

none sabr

Then I discovered the dithering (or technically anti-dithering right?) shaders, and how they can blend the dithered colors and pseudo transparency used in some games

none gdapt

Then I realized I could combine them to get the benefits of each gdapt + sabr

So really Im just interested in what I should try next as far as making the image look nice on a 1080p monitor…[/QUOTE]

Sorry, but I think that shader looks pretty terrible :stuck_out_tongue:

There is a huge amount of lost detail and it totally destroys the pixel art, not at all what the original artists intended. I’d look into the CRT shaders if you want to improve the image quality and accuracy. My personal favorites are CRT-Easymode and CRT-Hyllian-glow without the glow effect, with some adjustments to the parameters.

Meh, been using crt shaders from the start, just now discovered sabr :stuck_out_tongue: